The History of our Infant School
The school was established in 1931 by the Dominican Sisters to serve the needs of the new parish of Burnt Oak and the existing parishes of Edgware and Kingsbury Green where no Catholic schools existed. We celebrated our eightieth anniversary in 2011 and created a Prayer Garden, in the playground, to mark the occasion.
For almost 60 years the school enjoyed the Sisters' Trusteeship during which period the Sisters, in addition to shouldering the financial burden of the School's upkeep, also supplied the major part of teaching staff. The past and present success of our School is a testament to the hard work and dedication of the Sisters and we continue to maintain strong links with the Dominican community, their ideals and aspirations.
The Junior and Infant Schools were separated in 1975 when the Junior school was relocated to new school premises in The Meads under the new name of St. Martin's Junior School. The Nursery was then added. From September 1995 St. Martin's Junior School has reverted to its original name of The Annunciation Catholic Junior School.
The Archdiocese of Westminster has since 1989 exercised Trusteeship of the school.